Travelogue- Ooty, India 

Hi Everyone! Hope you’re all having a great Sunday! I just got back from Ooty last night. It was a wonderful trip! The weather was absolutely lovely, with temperatures ranging from 13-16 degrees. Although it was difficult to get away from under the comforts of the covers, we managed to explore the queen of hill stations. Here’s a travelogue from my trip!
Although I was beyond excited for our trip to Ooty, the travel to our destination was a major concern for me. I have travel sickness, and our 5 hour car journey included 3 hours of twisted roads. I was dreading and mentally preparing myself for all the dizziness and puking. My Aunt got me some lemons, that I was to bite and suck at whenever I felt giddy. We made sure we collected all our belongings and I took one last trip to the bathroom, fully aware that clean public washrooms were a rarity. After a round of kisses and hugs we were off. 
Our travel was not as tiring as I expected it to be. We came across some beautiful views, including multiple sunflower fields that looked straight out of a Windows wallpaper. We stopped by at a Dosa Camp, and had one of the best Dosas, I also picked up a Lime drink as a precaution to the 2 hours of travel remaining. 

The last 2 hours were breathtaking to say the least. We had to cross animal reserves in the process, and saw deers, monkeys and horses on our way. It was beautiful. 
We reached Ooty at around 2.30, after passing 36 Hair pin curves. We stayed at the Derby Green Mahindra Resorts. Our stay was comfortable and refreshing and the resort was great, with the staff hospitable. We decided to take the day off and spent time at the Games Area of the resort. After losing terribly at chess to my Dad and playing a nostalgic family game of Snakes and Ladders we headed for a big dinner. 

The next day was very eventful. We visited the Chocolate Museum and bought back some great handmade butterscotch chocolates. The Botanical Garden was a beautiful sight. We went boating in Pykara and that was probably the highlight of my trip. The view was surreal, and so calming. I’ve attached pictures below.

We also went for a brief trek up to Lamb’s rock, and the realization of how unfit I’ve gotten sunk in.

We left on our 5th day there, and embarked on another 8 hour journey to Bangalore. (Didn’t puke, but the trip wasn’t half that enjoyable)

We had amazing food all the while and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ooty was breathtaking. 


Lots and lots of love, 

Themysticalpanda 

4 thoughts on “Travelogue- Ooty, India 

Leave a Reply

