Book Review- Sudha Murty’s, “Wise and Otherwise”

Currently in my dorm room, all cozy under my blanket and my pair of socks with the hot dogs on them. I can’t wait for summers, the Sonepat winters are getting to me.

I’ve always wanted to read a book by Sudha Murty. We had one of her stories as an academic reading back in 10th grade, and I remember it being one of my favorites.

Sudha Murty’s ‘Wise and Otherwise’ is a collection of short stories, depicting instances from her life that left behind a message. A message so strong, she believed it was worth recollecting and penning it down. And it truly was.

Each story teaches you a lesson, lays down the bitter truth of life, and leaves you at a loss for words. There are stories that have touched my heart and others that angered me. I was saddened that I couldn’t brush some of it off as fictitious.

The world isn’t in the textbooks. You can only learn by experiences. And then can you be wise. Then can you tackle the unpleasantness. Then can you live.The book doesn’t provide anything new or eye-opening. We can all relate to the instances and are well aware of the negativity people have developed. But we’ve accepted it to be a phase and have chosen to flow with it. And that’s where the issue lies. We cannot be passive for long. It’s imperative that we take steps, small it may be, but towards positivity and happiness for all. And that’s exactly what the book screams.

 

 

Lots and lots of love,

themysticalpanda

Leave a Reply

